Morning Routines

Poor Nathan. The bus comes to our house at 7:30 a.m. this year, getting to school at 8:45 a.m. It takes me 17 minutes to drive from home, so I can understand at least a 45 minute drive, which is what he had when he started school in Kindergarten. But an hour and 15 minutes? Seems like an awfully long ride, especially when it is the same on the way home. At one time, his pick up was 8:10-8:15, meaning he could sleep until 7:30. Gee I miss those days….

Getting Nathan ready for school in the morning is still a major thorn in my side. I’ve faced up to the fact that he needs 45 minutes to an hour (not 20-30 minutes like little brother Eric) to be ready to go. He simply can’t cope with “busy” in the morning and too much input, especially before his meds kick in, renders him unable to do any little thing. And I do mean anything. This child can sit doing absolutely nothing when he’s faced with too much to do in too short a time period, even with me encouraging, yelling, pleading and bargaining for him to “move”.

I’ve finally convinced both of them to eat breakfast in the morning. It’s not much on quality (Cinnamon Corn Pops are Nathan’s choice du jour) but it is something. Lunch always includes a fruit and vegetable, so I am consoling myself with that. Sure, I’d like to be the Betty Crocker mom who lays out a spread of bacon and eggs or even cut up fruit and yogurt. The truth is, I’m just not that organized yet. (But, I’m working on it…) I’ve read that breakfast cereal (and simple carbs in particular) are actually not a great start to the day. My personal favorite is oatmeal and fruit but the kids won’t touch that one yet. I’d like to get a protein in them before school, not just the milk they drink. Maybe sausage and toast would “go over” – at least I don’t have to stand at the stove and babysit those – hello broiler!

Anyway, the routine as of now seems to be working, mostly. Get up, get dressed, eat breakfast, pack lunch, race to the bus. But, I think I agree with Eric’s sleepy comment yesterday “I’m not sure I can do another 200 days of this”.

Leave a Reply

