A Break

No, not a blogging break, I think I’ve had enough of those….

My kids are giving me a break by going to Grandma’s for the weekend.  I enjoyed a blissful night of quiet last night wherein I refused to do anything.  (Well, I made supper, but that was it)

I didn’t realize how desperately I was in need of some ‘alone’ time until last night.  I couldn’t even get up the desire to go for a run, sweep a floor, fold a shirt….nothing.  I was even too tired to play on the computer.  (Now that’s exhaustion!)

I’ve got a huge “task list” to accomplish this weekend and I’m hoping to have a big city runaway too.  Might be possible, but if it seems like it will be more stress than it’s worth….I guess I’ll just stay home.  The fact is, I don’t really need anything.  A new pair of runners, since the new ones I just bought put my feet to sleep…but really don’t need stuff.

The children however………..need everything.  2 pairs of shoes each, adjustable waist pants for Eric, socks, t-shirts, winter clothes (I know it’s August, but I bought a Columbia winter parka in Minneapolis on July 1st), boots, school supplies and on and on.

I know I should take them.  I should.  But I fear there is too much to get in one trip & I need to think about each item.  I don’t know about you, but my guys are more the “grab anything” shoppers, not the “let’s carefully choose each item” shoppers. 

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh.  This break is just what I needed.

2 thoughts on “A Break

  1. I don’t even take mine to shop. I buy and if it doesn’t fit, I take back. Sometimes a bother, but not near as much as if I had to take the kids. Reminds me….gotta get some clothes (shorts) for Ian before school. Better try some of his jeans on him since he hasn’t worn any for the last 5 months or so! I assume he’s grown some!

    Hope you get your alone time!

Leave a Reply

