Give Me Another Chance??!??

Ok, I know it has been a very long time between updates.  It’s just that I’ve been really busy.

Or something.

Nathan is doing so well that I hardly feel the need to blog things off my chest.  Maybe the lack of posting is a good thing?  I don’t feel the need to pour my heart out on a constant basis.  For that, I am grateful. 

In a way, we’ve been enjoying the elusive “normal” life that I have craved.  The boys are doing well in school, Nathan is making appropriate progress, not fast but definite progress.  He is nearly at grade-level in reading, math is behind as is gross & fine motor.  I’ve come to accept that this is a long process, not a race.

Sure, I notice things are still hard for him.  He can’t keep up to his peer group.  But, he is happy.  He is thriving.  He has friends.  What more can an ASD mom ask for?  What more can a mother ask for? 

Though Autism has shaped our lives, we are grateful that Nathan & Eric are both healthy.  A friend of ours was just diagnosed with cancer this morning.  She’s 10 years old & although the prognosis is good, we’re still terrified for her & her family.  I was at her baptism, I’ve watched her grow up.  Now, I have to trust that God will allow us to see her through to adulthood.  Please, as you pray, remember us.

3 thoughts on “Give Me Another Chance??!??

  1. Good to hear from you. I know what you mean about it’s easier to blog when you have things to get off your chest. But I’ve also come to realize we all like to hear about things like this entry. I love sharing in the joys too. Hopefully you’ll be able to keep it up. It seems like less and less time as they get older though. Keep up the good work and encouragement!

  2. Glad you are back, but I am also glad to hear things are going so well. I think I know what you mean; the better things go for us, the less often I seem to post.

Leave a Reply

