Just Go to Bed!

I have to say – sometimes it isn’t the kids that need an early bedtime, it’s Mommy. We had T-ball after work last night & by the time we got the kids home it was about 8:30 or, half an hour past their proper bedtime.

As I was busy fighting with them about bed, food, water, juice, clothing….it occured to me. Who is tired here? Them? or You?

So, after nearly breaking Eric’s heart that I wouldn’t read him a story – he had just chucked a plate across the room, plastic, but still – I left them in my husband’s capable hands and went to bed.

That’s right. Bed. I was sleeping before 9:30 p.m. which I don’t ever do unless I am sick. I have no idea what time Neil came to bed, but I know we both had a good sleep. I woke up at 6:30 this morning, still tired, but a lot more ready to greet the day.

At least now I don’t feel like grumpy mommy. Maybe we’ll even have a nice evening, instead of me wishing it was bedtime already. I always feel guilty when I do that. They’ve been home for an hour & I wish they’d leave. Good indication someone is tired. Yeah. Me.

So here’s your challenge this week – are you snappy and grouchy? Go to bed early. The dishes won’t care.

4 thoughts on “Just Go to Bed!

  1. I admit, when I wake up in the morning my first thought is “Do I get a nap today?” Shhh, don’t tell anyone!

Leave a Reply

