Who ARE these kids?

So, yesterday we had melt-down morning.  Today – sunshine, smiles and compliance.  Seriously.  I swear these kids are really trying to keep me on my toes.  I never know from one day to the next what they are going to be like and while I hope & pray for calm, I know that freaking out is probably more likely.

When you are blessed with a calm, gentle morning, it just makes the rest of the day so much easier, doesn’t it?  Apologies to all my friends who just read that and wondered  – “A calm morning?  What the hell is that??”  Really, we just started getting them in the last 6 or so months, please don’t hate me.  And they are few and far between.  Please.  Don’t hate me.

Nathan and I even had time to practice his pre-primer reading words.  He is now struggling with only 12.  A month ago, he knew 19 of 45 words.  Now, he knows 33/45.    That’s 73% folks!  I’m doing a little happy dance right now.  I am hoping to get the Primer words cut out and ready to slip in a half dozen or so, just to keep the challenge up.  He’s whizing through the entire 33, so I think he is ready to have a few more new words. 

Eric didn’t ask for a turn at reading this morning, good thing, we would have been late.  He gets so mad that he can’t read as many as Nathan, but I know that it won’t be long before he breezes past either.  Eric is stubborn (like his parents) and if he puts his mind to it, he’ll succeed at just about everything.  He’s really struggling with being 4 right now.  He doesn’t like his handwriting – too messy.  He doesn’t like putting clothes away – he messes up the tidy folding I did.  He gets mad if he can’t perform a task as well as I can – and on and on.  Eric just wants to be “big”.  Soon enough his gross and fine motor skills will catch up with his ambitions.  I’m not ready for it just yet but I know the day is coming.

I’m really looking forward to the weekend.  It’s supposed to be a little nicer, maybe above freezing even!  I’d really like to get the industrial sized garden tilled up and ready for planting.  Don’t get too excited, I’m not Mrs. Greenthumb or anything, but I do like fresh peas, carrots and potatoes.  Even if it is a pile of work.  Well, anything worth having usually is, right?

One thought on “Who ARE these kids?

  1. That’s awesome about the reading words! Cool.

    And yes, a good, calm morning makes all the difference. I just wish I had the magic formula to make sure all (or even just most) of our mornings were calm. Someday…

Leave a Reply

