My son is kinda freakin’ me out

I read, with great difficulty, Soul of Autism by William Stillman about four months ago. The book itself is not a tough read, it’s the subject matter.

Essentially, the book is about the connection some autistics have with the Divine, spirits and spirituality. As a practicing Christian, I found it hard to read on one hand and fascinating on the other. He interviews families whose child has a profound relationship with a dead grandparent they have never met. Or who seem to have a spiritual connection without regard for “religion”.

So, why is my son kinda freakin’ me out?

At the supper table, he asked a question like “how come he died?”, looking at me, but past me. So, I said, “who died, Nathan?”

He looks at me and says “I wasn’t talking to you.”

Weird, right, but not freaky.

Thursday morning, I was in the basement thinking “don’t forget the kids probiotics in the fridge”. I needed to get them packed in a bag to go to Grandma’s.

I wasn’t back upstairs 20 seconds and Nathan was in the fridge, grabbing the probiotics saying “don’t forget to pack these”. I never said anything about vitamins or supplements to him. I had packed those the night before & he was in bed. I don’t think he even knew what bag they were in. Also, he wasn’t concerned about the rest of the vitamins, just the probiotics.

This, combined with the incident the night before, freaked me out. Not in a bad way entirely, just got me wondering, what if? What if he does see spirits or has some amount of ESP? What could that mean for him and how do we help him to make sense of this?

Nathan is a really perceptive child. He was a baby that cried (and still does) if someone else cried. He seems to know who is being genuine and who’s just “in it for the money”. He & I do share a very close bond as well, probably because he was non-verbal for so long. So, it’s not such a stretch to think he might be more in contact with God than the average person.

I’d be interested to hear if you’ve seen this at your house.

3 thoughts on “My son is kinda freakin’ me out

  1. I also reluctantly read that book, but I have to admit it was interesting. I have experienced similar situations with my son. They seem to have lessened in frequency as his autism symptoms improved. In fact, I don’t think we’ve had any unusual occurrences in many months. I have no idea if I was just dealing with coincidences and/or reading too much into things or if there is indeed a superior level of sensitivity involved. His teachers last year even made comments about his ability to know what they were going to say before they said it.

    I’m glad you posted this. Thanks!

  2. There is a name for this, these types of kids are sometimes called Rainbow or Indigo children.

    http://www.extrasensory-perceptions-guide.com/child-indigo.html

    I am not sure how much I beleive all of the hype, but i do beleive some people, and especially some children are sensitive to things adults are to “busy” to see.

    I don;t have a link, but i read somewhere that the increasing number of Autistic Spectrum kids, was actually all of these Indigo/Rainbow kids coming to help make a better world, and there “disability” was a “gift” that allowed them to be in touch with a spiritual side that other children and adults can not connect to, and these kids will save us.

    I haven’t read there book your talking about, but this was an interesting take on ASD kids and there gifts to the world. I have heard many stories simular to yours.

    I think the biggest thing you can do to help you child if he does have some type of sensitivity is to accept him and don’t make him feel different or bad for it. Listen and be open and don;t discourage it out of fear. Many kids do grow out of there “sensitivities” just as they grow out of there imaginary friends, and belief in things like unicorns and santa. But you can encourage a belief in magic and the unknow and perhaps some of that will stick.

  3. I don’t have any experience with this myself, but it wouldn’t really surprise me. I think kids in general are more in tune with spiritual things, maybe because of their innate innocence or because they take the time to pay attention. Who knows? It is fascinating, though.

Leave a Reply

