Celebrating the Little Things

As a parent, everyone is used to celebrating little things that are actually momentous. First steps, first words, first day of preschool. But it’s only those of us with special needs kids that learn to celebrate the really little things. Like putting on pants, pulled all the way up. Or, using a spoon or fork consistently. And it doesn’t matter if they learn it at the “appropriate age” or much, much later.

I actually feel sad for people with typical children sometimes. Those who take for granted when their kids master walking on a 1″ line. Or jump off the furniture. They miss out on all the opportunities to be amazed by every milestone. And they simply miss stuff. Having a Eric made me realize that it is very easy to gloss over things that are a very big deal for Nathan to do.

And so it is my goal this year, to celebrate the little things for both my boys. To not focus soley on Nathan’s little wins, but to see Eric’s for the miracle they are as well. So today I am bragging on Eric. He is finally able to complete puzzles (that btw, Nathan was doing at 3.5) without assistance. He can see the patterns and has the patience to keep trying without insisting I finish it. It’s a little thing, but right now, they are puzzling & I am blogging. That looks like a victory to me!

4 thoughts on “Celebrating the Little Things

  1. I feel lucky for all the same reasons… If I didn;t know about Holly’s Diagnosis, I fear that I would simply have overlooked so many little things that now simply amaze me.

  2. I was just thinking about this yesterday. It is so true that we have the unique ability to enjoy these successes no matter how small they may seem to others. The fact is, it just means more when you have to work hard for it.
    For what it’s worth, I think putting together a puzzle IS a big deal. Congratulations to Eric (and to you)!

Leave a Reply

