Bedtime Routines

Nathan has been beyond tired this week.  He had school yesterday, so I expected him to be tired. But it was the same again tonight.  We barely made it through supper both nights without fighting with him.  Tonight his speech was so garbled, I could hardly understand a word he said.  I can’t remember the last time it was this bad.

His evening routine has been computer time before supper, eat (grudgingly and with much prodding) and warm bath.  He has Epsom salts in his bath as they help him to relax but he needs to stay in for 20 minutes to get the full benefit.  When he’s tired, he can’t stand to sit still so long.  So, I started reading him stories in the tub (well, I’m not in the tub) to keep him occupied. 

I read 4 or 5 stories in the tub and then he gets out, sits in front of the woodstove and waits for his jammies.  Then it’s off to his little couch for a few more stories.   It’s a little flip sofa at the end of his bed next to the bookshelf. Almost a hideaway, really.  We started that last week.  I figured it would be a one-time thing, but Nathan just insists on it every night.  And if there is one thing ASD kids have in common, it is rigidity in their routines!

Then, it’s prayers & his bedtime song.  He likes the song from “Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch.  Of course, I have to sing:
I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always.
As long as I’m living,
My Nathan you’ll be

(Cuz he’s not a baby anymore, don’t you know) 

I really do love bedtime.

2 thoughts on “Bedtime Routines

  1. That sounds like the sweetest thing ever. I will have to try that salt stuff.. Does he have to be submerged, or like if he is sitting does it work? Holly needs to “relax” her shoulders are hunched and super tight.

    it also gives me hope that when she is older and starts to understand a bedtime routine I can reintroduce the song I wrote for her. I think right now, it is too much of a distraction, like a story and it stimulates her and keeps her up.. She also knows it means bedtime and when she is trying to resist, as soon as I start to sing it she gets mad now, in anticipation.

  2. Man, I wish someone would read stories to me in the bathtub and then put me in front of a wood-burning stove while I waited for them to bring me my pjs. Sounds downright heavenly!!

    My son has ben really tired lately too. He still hasn’t quite gotten back on schedule from Christmas break, but we are getting there.

Leave a Reply

