Bye-Bye Sucky?

Last night poor, tired, worn out Eric could not find his Sucky.  Yes.  He is four.  Yes,  I know I should have taken his soother away 2 years ago.  I tried.  We didn’t sleep for 4 months.  I gave it back, he’s slept through the night ever since.

Anyhow, the tragedy of the missing sucky was compounded by the fact that Mommy would not go and look for it.  Instead, I climbed into his bed and stayed with him until he fell asleep.  I fully expected him to be up in the night.  But, no.  He slept all night long!

This morning, he found the missing sucky.  Actually, he found two.  He was so happy to see them that I almost felt bad for hiding them.  But not really.

Come on people.  He’s four.  At this rate, he’ll be sucking the thing on his wedding night.  So, I guess we’ll see if Eric can go one more night without his best friend.  He’s not ready to let it go but I think it might be a tough love-approach time.

Unless he quits sleeping.  Then, I’ll give it back.  But if you tell him that, I am sending him to Your house.  Without sucky.  See how you like that.

4 thoughts on “Bye-Bye Sucky?

  1. Good luck. I hope it works and that you can still get some sleep. My kids have never used pacifiers (though this is not for lack of trying on my part when they were infants) but my 5-year-old son has a blanket that he chews on. Yes, chews. He has chewed on a blanket since he was a newborn. He also used to chew on socks. I think it is a sensory thing. It is definitely a calming activity– you can seriously see him calm down when he starts chewing. I should probably consider weaning him, but I have absolutely no intentions of doing so in the near future. Don’t tell his dentist. I just cannot bear the thought of taking something from him that calms him so readily. So, I totally get what you are saying about giving it back to him if he can’t sleep. I would do the same.

  2. We’ve never been into pacifiers here…here, like at Patty’s house, it’s blankies. My 19 year old daughter brought her rag, I mean “blankie,” to her first year of college a few months ago! Evan, 2 and a half, is also a blankie addict, and he also chews on his. (and he chews on his socks, too!)
    Good luck with the Sucky!

  3. Worst case scenario, he is at his wedding with his sucky but be happy,, at that point it’s his wife’s problem, not yours AND you won’t have to wonder if a 30 year old guy who has a sucky will ever find a woman to love him.

    Now there’s a giggle! Thanks for that!

  4. My youngest is the only one that has ever taken a “Sucky” we call them “binks”. He will be two in May, and he still gets a bottle a.k.a “ninny” at nap and bedtime. We tried to take ninny and bink away at 12months and when he didn’t sleep like you I gave them back immediately.. LOL! I’m going to link this post in an upcoming post of mine.

Leave a Reply

