Back to School!

Yee-Haaaa Baby.  It is back to school for Nathan today.  And believe me, He needs the return to routine.  (Ok, maybe it’s me)  All this lazing about with Dad, no structure, no real purpose in each day is lovely.  He’s had a great time bonding with Dad and playing with all the new toys, but seriously.

Seriously.

Enough is enough.  It is time to get back to school lunches and bus pick up and every other day to K’s house.  It’s time for music class and library days and SPEECH class, because if I hear him slur one more syllable….well, there might be some serious trauma around here.  I mean it, I will put myself outside for a time out.  And, it is somewhat warmer here today, only minus 23 this morning (forecasted high of minus 19) but I’m still certain that will cause massive frostbite.  Might be better than listening to one more “How was your day today, Mom?” question.  Which he asks at least 100 times a day.  I’m not kididng.

Fortunately, Nathan is very very excited to be headed back to school today.  He can hardly wait to get on the bus, which means he got up at 6:30 a.m. today.  So much for a bit of “ME” time today.  I shouldn’t complain.  I got up at 6:10, so I did get 20 minutes, that’s pretty good, I guess.  Of course, now he’s likely to be ready for bed about 5 minutes before I get home from work.  He won’t go to bed for 3 hours after but he’ll need to be in bed.

So I’m off to do the happy dance in the corner and be glad to return to our regular, somewhat organized life.  Hope back to school has gone smoothly for you too.

3 thoughts on “Back to School!

  1. We go back today too but we have a 2 hour delay. So…so far not so smooth. Oh well. Hopefully the shortened day will help with the transition to get back into it.

  2. I was also “happy dancing” when my son went back to school yesterday. It is wonderful to have our rut, I mean schedule, back. Everything seems to just run that much smoother. 🙂

  3. I so know what you are saying. We have had a really lazy vacation, which has been nice, but the lack of routine is killing me and making Danny pretty crabby at times. And it was nice for his sister to have some time without her brother. She could actually play unbothered with whatever toy she wanted. No bossy brother to bug her. Bliss.

Leave a Reply

