Christmas Carols We’d Love to Sing

Ok, I am totally stealing content again. Is it stealing if you give credit though? Something for the ethicists to ponder I suppose.

I found this on About.com & thought that someone else might get a giggle from them too.

 

carols8

 

carols4

It’s Fragile X Friday too. Last week I talked about gifts, the material ones.

This week, I would like to remind you to consider the special gifts of your child. Try to frame your complaints about your child into positive things.

For example, Nathan loves to hear the same Christmas story book every night. It’s a great story, but really, a little variety….

The positive – he is learning to repeat the phrases and seeing the same words over & over is helping him learn to read. An added bonus is that the focus of this book is on how God gives us Christmas, so also reinforces the values I want to teach him.

Or, Nathan is not comfortable in new places and crowds. This means I don’t go to as many events as I’d like. The positive – I spend more time at home enjoying his company & don’t get nearly as stressed over the holidays.

I am determined to give my children a real gift this year. Time. Quiet. Joy.

What are you giving for Christmas? (And if you’ve got a really hard to buy for person, why not make a donation in their name to your Fragile X association? Research doesn’t happen without help!)

4 thoughts on “Christmas Carols We’d Love to Sing

  1. I love it!!!! My kiddos each get one sorta expensive gift they ask for and the rest are things they need like clothes and shoes. I noticed this morning that Matthew only has 1 pair of jeans that DOESN’T have hole in the knee!!!

  2. What a great post. I love those songs–they totally cracked me up, especially since my sister-in-law just informed me that she bought my three-year-old daughter a Barbie doll. That just seems soooo young to me. I am actually considering hiding it until Charlotte gets older. Actually, I doubt she will really play with it….

    Thanks for the reminder to look on the bright side of things, especially with our special needs kids. It is so true that though they can be challenging, those challenges, if looked at with proper perspective and time, can be perceived as blessings (usually, though my potty issues with my son? I just don’t see myself EVER being grateful for that!)

Leave a Reply

