Happy Birthday to Me

 

So, today is my 30th Birthday.  Yes, this one time only, I am going to admit it.  After today, I go back to being 25.  For at least 5 more years, or until I decide that the 30s is a decent age to be.

 

I have never really liked changing decades.  It seems that entering a new decade brings you into a new set of cultural expectations that I am not sure I am really ready for.  My husband, on the other hand, is really hoping that “sexual peak” rumors are true.

 

I wonder if I am where I thought I would be at 30.  Let’s take a quick inventory:

   I am married (check)

   I have two kids (check, check)

  They are 2 boys (hmm, kinda thought I’d have one of each, so check, buzz)

  I work full time in a career that I really love (check)

  I have a house (check) that is paid for (buzz)

  I have retirement savings (buzz, must work on this)

  I traveled to Europe (buzz)

  I support, with my time, energy & dollars a cause that I am passionate about (buzz, sadly)

I am healthy (check)

I am joyful (check)

I have a creative outlet (semi-buzz, I have the supplies, not the time!)

 

So, overall, I thought I would be successful at: family, job, some travel, financially comfortable, and be making a difference in the wider world.  I am clearly not there yet, so I guess I know what I will be working on in my 30s!

 

Maybe this won’t be so bad after all……

One thought on “Happy Birthday to Me

  1. lmao…my hubby was stoked about 30 for the same reason. Men all think the same 😆

    It’s two days late but happy birthday. Hope 30 is treating you well 🙂

Leave a Reply

