So Now What?

Well, I have sat and lived with Nathan’s autism diagnosis for a couple of weeks. I’ve got $100.00 worth of books from Chapters, two new ones from the Library, podcasts I’m listening to as I can, research on various websites, austism action websites & parent support sites….

And at the end of the day, I have absolutely no idea what to do next. There seems to be no “authority” on autism. Lots of professionals who feel they are the “authority” and just as many ready & happy to denounce them as quacks. I looked up DAN! doctors, there isn’t an MD anywhere near us listed on that website. There is a conference in Winnipeg in November that I could attend but I wonder if it would be worth it?

I’ve put in a call to our CSS worker, hoping he may have some insights & next steps for us. In the meantime, we continue with Learning Time. We might even try a modified “school day” starting on the weekend. The idea I have is to work in blocks of time, with activity breaks (unstructured, like a recess) for up to 4 or 5 hours.

Nathan does love Learning Time. I wonder though, how much of it is the Learning & how much is the one-on-one time with Mom? Does it really matter??

So, my lovely blog readers, especially those who haven’t commented before, if you have a “next step” that you recommend we take, I would LOVE to hear it.

One thought on “So Now What?

Leave a Reply

