The Dx Blog

So, now I am ready to talk about it.

Nathan’s psychiatrist has diagnosed him with the following (pretty much word for word from the report):
Axis (I) (a) Autsim Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder – not
otherwise specified
(b)Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder…the cognitive difficulties
are secondary to the diagnosis of Austism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive
Developmental Disorder NOS

Axis (II) Developmental Delay
Axis (III) Speech/Language Delay
Axis (IV) Strabismus
Axis (V) Global Assessment of Functioning 45-49/100

That is a pretty harsh list of stuff, if you ask me. I’ve come to realize that none of it changes him and shouldn’t change how I think of him. It does. But not necessarily in a bad way. Some of the changes are to make accomodations for his diagnosis. It is reassuring to know that some of his “Nathan-ness” is part ASD.

The one, concrete thing it has done is to refocus our efforts on getting him ready for Kindergarten. I’ve been actively working at “Learning Time” every day. This is when we work on letters, colours, sounds, puzzles, games… for an hour if his patience holds out. He HATES counting, but loves to colour. I think numbers make little sense to him yet, so he can’t be bothered. He looks forward to the time & I have found that I do as well. It is easier now than it was 6 months ago. He’s able to do so much more & I’ve found better resources.

So, we’ll keep pushing & pulling that kid all the way to Grade 12. Maybe he’ll surprise me one day & tell me “Back Off. I get it.” That would be great.

2 thoughts on “The Dx Blog

  1. The only real thing this stuff is good for is just to get him the services that he needs. The “officials” want a title for it so this is how they get it.

    As you said, he is the same old little guy.

    We told our daughter she had fragile x about 2 years ago. She saw me reading something about FXS the other day. She told me that FXS was cool. I asked her why she thought that. Her response….”cuz I have it and I’m cool.” LOL

  2. Love it. That is exactly the attitude I hope Nathan has when we get around to telling him

Leave a Reply

