National Lampoon’s Family Vacation

No, this is not a movie review. It is just the title for our summer vacation! I swear, we channel the Griswold’s at all times of the year. Neil is the king of Christmas lights, I think if we’d stayed living in town, we’d have given Clark a run for his money. (Or ended up on some local news show)

We’re planning on taking our two children on a 9 or 10 hour drive (depends on whether Google maps measures time at 90 km/hr or 100 km/hr!) down to South Dakota. I have always wanted to see Mt. Rushmore & this is a perfect opportunity to go. I am really hoping that the kids travel well, they usually do. The toughest part might be crossing the US border. Last time we went it was quite a hassle, with the Border Service inspecting the car, our wallets, pockets & life histories. Yikes. I can’t imagine how Nathan will feel about all of that!

We have a whole week to bum around, pick activities and get home. No schedule, no family visits, no pressures. Sounds like the closest thing to perfect vacation as I can think of. At least, a perfect vacation with two kids in tow anyhow. I always said I wanted to go further south than Minot, North Dakota, so I guess Rapid City, South Dakota is a good start!!

One thought on “National Lampoon’s Family Vacation

Leave a Reply

