No Nap for Eric

Eric is 3.5 years old now & still takes a nap everyday at daycare. On the weekend he might sleep on one of the days, for up to 3 hours, so I don’t know how long he is sleeping in daycare. What I do know is that my son refuses to go to bed before 10 – 11 p.m. He cries, he fights, he bargains, he does anything & everything to stay up. He always says “but I’m not tired!” & lately, I am starting to think he is not stalling. Maybe he really is NOT tired.

Yesterday, he played outside, hard, for more than 2 hours. That should have worn anybody out. Not Eric. He was up until 11:15. I had wanted to go to bed at 9:30 last night, so was not terribly impressed. Ok, I was right ticked off. I may have even yelled. (A lot)

So, today, I asked the daycare to please end the napping & see how he does. I suspect that he will be grumpier, but at least we’ll all start getting some sleep. I get up at 5:30 a.m. & cannot be staying up until 11 every night! Cross your fingers that at least some of our nighttime battles will be ending soon!

Leave a Reply

