On My Bookshelf

I am an avid reader. Strike that, I am a voracious reader. But I haven’t had nearly enough time to read since I started taking continuing education courses from the University. Last semester I took 2 at one time, not a great idea, but I managed to hold on to my 4.3 G.P.A. So, I guess it went ok? Before I had kids, I might have read more than 5 books in a week. Plus magazines. I didn’t have internet access at home back then, or I would have been online for hours reading too.

I love to read. I love way words create new worlds and take me places that I can only imagine. I laugh out loud at books. I laugh until I have tears streaming down my face. I cry, great sobbing tears, aching for the story. I throw books across the room when they make me so angry I just can’t bear it another second. I don’t understand how you can read without doing these things, but I know that most people don’t. I think they might be missing something.

I used to have a library card that you got stamped to remind you when your books were due. I miss that yellow, manila tag card. It had my name and my special library code on it. Now, I still have a special library code, but everything is stored on the computer. Without that little code, I would probably end up re-borrowing books, because they still look “interesting”.

My latest book was Cormac McCarthy’s “The Road”. I’ll be honest. I didn’t like it. I was 37 pages in, and I wasn’t sure I wanted to finish it. At the end, I didn’t get “it”. I had to go to Oprah.com to read the discussion questions, before I understood where the author was going. I think it would be a great school project or book club read. But the whole time I read it, I was reminded of “Pulp Fiction” (the movie). They are nothing alike, except that the critics loved it & I kinda hated it. I can see why it has received so much praise. I just didn’t like it.

So now I am reading “Look Me in the Eye”. It is the story of a man who has Asperger’s. It is a wonderful read. But I will review it more once I finish it. For now, all I can say is that it is worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

